Speak of the (Geosciences) DeVL – she’s extending!

Dr Lesley Wyborn1, Dr Carsten Friedrich2, Dr  Ben Evans1, Dr Nigel Rees1, Professor Graham  Heinson3, Dennis Conway3, Dr Michelle Salmon4, Dr Meghan Miller4, Julia Martin5, Dr Jens Klump6, Dr Mingfang Wu7, Mr Ryan Fraser6, Dr Tim Rawling8

1NCI, ANU, Canberra, Australia
2Data 61, Canberra, Australia
3The University of Adelaide, Adelaide, Australia
4Research School of Earth Sciences, ANU, Canberra, Australia
5Australian Research Data Commons, Canberra, Australia
6Mineral Resources, CSIRO, Perth, Australia
7ARDC, Melbourne, Australia
8AuScope, Melbourne, Australia


Since 2017 the Australian Research Data Commons (ARDC) has co-funded the Geosciences Data-enhanced Virtual Laboratory (DeVL) project in collaboration with AuScope, National Computational Infrastructure (NCI), CSIRO, the Research School of Earth Sciences (RSES) of the ANU, The University of Adelaide, and Curtin University. The project is a first step in realising the AuScope Virtual Research Environment (AVRE) as part of a strategic goal to develop a data assimilation and geoscientific discovery and analytics platform for the Australian continent. The Geosciences DeVL has four work packages: Magnetotellurics (MT), Passive Seismic (PS), International Geo Sample Number (IGSN), and the AVRE platform and portals.

The University of Adelaide MT collection is being curated through collaboration with NCI, the Geological Survey of South Australia, and The University of Adelaide. Datasets, including time-series and processed data, are now discoverable and accessible through NCI’s catalogue and data services, and available for download and further HPC processing and data analysis through AVRE.

The PS work package is progressively releasing the RSES PS collection through the AusPass portal (supported by funding from other sources).

A collaboration between ARDC, CSIRO, and Curtin University has developed an IGSN minting service to allocate globally unique identifiers for academic geochemistry samples: this service is now being extended to researchers from other disciplines.

The AVRE component, led by CSIRO, is focused on improving access to geophysics data through a common AuScope portal infrastructure, and with ARDC, on improving the description, discovery, and execution of software, workflows and scientific solutions relevant to Australian geoscience.


Lesley Wyborn is an Adjunct Fellow at the National Computational Infrastructure and RSES at ANU and works part time for the Australian Research Data Commons. She previously had 42 years’ experience in scientific research (geochemistry and mineral systems research)  and in geoscientific data management in Geoscience Australia from 1972 to 2014. In geoinformatics her main interests are developing international standards that support the integration of Earth science datasets into transdisciplinary research projects and in developing seamless high performance data sets that can be used in high performance computing environments. She is currently Chair of the Australian Academy of Science ‘National Data in Science Committee’ and is on the American Geophysical Union Data Management Board. She was awarded the Australian Government Public Service Medal in 2014, the 2015 Geological Society of America Career Achievement Award in Geoinformatics and the 2019 US Earth Science Information Partners Martha Maiden Award.


AeRO is the industry association focused on eResearch in Australasia. We play a critical coordination role for our members, who are actively transforming research via Information Technology. Organisations join AeRO to advance their own capabilities and services, to collaborate and to network with peers. AeRO believes researchers and the sector significantly benefit from greater communication, coordination and sharing among the increasingly different and evolving service providers.

Conference Managers

Please contact the team at Conference Design with any questions regarding the conference.
© 2019 Conference Design Pty Ltd